Driving while intoxicated (DWI), is not only illegal – it’s dangerous. Countless people have been made victims of drunk driving accidents. According to the Texas Department of Transportation, one person dies every nine hours and six minutes in an alcohol-related car accident.
Here are some sobering statistics about DWI:
- 963 people died in Texas from drunk driving in 2020
- 2,114 people were seriously injured by drunk drivers in Texas in 2020
- Texas has one of the worst rates of alcohol-related traffic fatalities in the U.S.
- In 2019, 28% of all traffic fatalities in the U.S. were alcohol-related
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving estimates that drunk driving costs the U.S. $132 billion each year
Despite many campaigns from national, state, local, and private organizations to help stop drunk driving, many drivers make that dangerous choice every day. While the numbers are trending down, Harris county is still one of the worst in Texas for alcohol-impaired driving deaths.
What is Driving While Intoxicated?
In Texas, it’s illegal to drive under the influence of any amount of drugs or alcohol that affect your driving ability. Drivers are considered legally intoxicated when the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is at 0.08% or higher. It’s important to keep in mind that someone’s driving may be affected even at lower levels of BAC.
Of course, alcohol affects everyone a little differently. However, at 0.08% BAC, most people think they are functioning better than they truly are. They may slur their speech and be off balance, with poor coordination skills. This level of intoxication also makes it harder to hear and see and can significantly cloud their judgment. As you can see, this state can easily affect one’s driving and may increase the risk for a car accident.
Police officers use a breathalyzer test to determine BAC. However, there are ways you can estimate blood alcohol content. For men who weigh 200 pounds, it takes only about three drinks to reach the legal point of intoxication. For women weighing 160 pounds, it takes just two drinks.
On average, the body metabolizes approximately 0.015% of blood alcohol content per hour. So, if you have a BAC of 0.08% at 6:00 PM, you would likely reach 0.05% BAC by 8:00 PM. However, keep in mind that these are estimates and everyone’s alcohol tolerance and metabolism is different.
Victims of Driving While Intoxicated
Drunk drivers may cause serious accidents that result in severe injuries or even death. If you were injured by a drunk driver, you may face significant expenses for medical care, lost wages, and property damages.
Our attorneys at Maida Law Firm help you fight your car accident case. We offer experienced legal services and representation for victims injured by drunk drivers. Our team of experienced attorneys can help you with insurance claims and lawsuits after a car accident. We work on a contingency basis, which means if we don’t win your case, you owe us $0. Contact us now for a free consultation with our lawyers.